LOUND BIRD CLUB

Striving to record, monitor and conserve birds & wildlife found on the Sutton & Lound GP's SSSI (Idle Valley NR) since 1990.

Wildlife Sightings 2014

Saturday 23rd August

Bunker Wood - Single Brown Argus butterfly. (A.Bell)


Sunday 20th July

Chainbridge NR Scrape - Adult female and faun Roe Deer crossed the shallows to the rear of the scrape. Clayworth Common - Single Hare noted. Tiln North (Restoration Area) - Single Hare and a dead Field Mouse. (G.Hobson et al)


Friday 11th July

Chainbridge Lane (Tiln North?) - Single Fox with dead Grey Partridge kill and 1 Hare. (J.Wilson)


Friday 20th June

Blaco - Single Fox and 7 Hares. Neatholme Lane - Single Southern Hawker dragonfly. Parish Park - Single juvenile Grass Snake, 2 Emperor dragonfly and 3 Four-spotted Chasers.  (T.Tomlinson, K.Wilson)


Monday 2nd June

Neatholme Scrape - Single Roe Deer today. Parish Park - A Red-eyed Damselfly was photographed here today. (T.Tomlinson)

Red-eyed Damselfly - Parish Park, 3rd June 2014 ©Tony Tomlinson


Friday 9th May

Bellmoor Pits (Old Silt Ponds) - Single OTTER (MWa) was noted by one lucky observer at around 10:10am this morning as it swam across the pond through the lily pads to a small tree clad island where it was lost from sight. Chainbridge Pit - Single Grass Snake was seen on track but soon disappeared. (M.Warne, P.Cadman) 


Monday 5th May 

Tarmac Offices (Bellmoor?) - Two Roe Deer noted here today. (M.Fitzsimmons)

 


Sunday 20th April

Bellmoor Lake - Single Grass Snake noted in grassy edges of pit. (A.Bell)


Saturday 19th April

Cross Lane - Single Fox 'barking' and watched for several minutes. Neatholme Scrape - Single Roe Deer noted on northern viewpoint mound. Clayworth Common - Two Hares noted on bare field. (G.Hobson, I.Cowgill)


Sunday 13th April

Chainbridge NR Scrape (East) - Single Fox noted. Hawthorn Lane - Single Green Tiger Beetle noted. (M.Warne)


Friday 11th April

Neatholme Fen - Single Fox noted here today. Blaco - Up to 8 Hares in area today. Neatholme Scrape - Single Roe Deer noted. (T.Tomlinson et al)


Friday 4th April

Linghurst Wood - Single Roe Deer noted here. Blaco - Three Hares noted here. Chainbridge NR Scrape (East) - Single Roe Deer present. Neatholme Scrape - Single Peacock butterfly. (T.Tomlinson et at)


Wednesday 2nd April

Cross Lane - Single Stoat noted. Neatholme Scrape - Single Roe Deer noted (M.Fitzsimmons)


Tuesday 1st April

Hayton/Clayworth Common - Two Roe Deer crossed the commons today. (D.Mannifield)


Monday 31st March

Blaco - Four Hares.  Tiln North (Restoration Area) - Two Small Tortoiseshell butterfly. (T.Tomlinson, K.Wilson)


Sunday 30th March 

Bunker Wood - Single Peacock butterfly. (A.Bell)


Friday 21st March

Blaco - Five Hares, 1 Stoat and 1 Small Tortoiseshell butterfly. Neatholme Pit - Single Peacock butterfly. Chainbridge NR Scrape (East) - Single male Roe Deer. (T.Tomlinson et al)


Monday 17th March

Blaco - Nine Hares and 1 Stoat. (T.Tomlinson et al)


Friday 14th March

Blaco - Two Hares. Neatholme Pit - Comma Butterfly. Chainbridge Wood NR - Brimstone Butterfly. Chainbridge NR Scrape (East) - Single Roe Deer. (T.Tomlinson et al)


Friday 7th March

Chainbridge NR Scrape - Single Roe Deer noted. (M.Warne)

Local Weather Forecast